Ideally its good to really water the plants a couple of times a week with lots of water rather than a small shower each day. We will also leave a description and diagram for the next owner inside a zip-lock bag stapled to the boards for future reference to re-install the battens INCLUDING words of warning about the lack of light and life just in case they wish to go back to the cedar in all it's dark glory!. My pepper seedlings are about 1-2 inches high and have about 4 leaves each. London, United Kingdom . Do they take the cold?I may try some seeds outside as well. After planting the plant looked fine for a week or so but now some of the leaves seem to be wilting and dying. My plug Lupins are now 4 - 6 inches tall, with one or two larger mature leaves (the typically shaped Lupin leaf) and some smaller leaves that are not fully grown. Sophie, that's pretty impressive. Any help is much appreciated. This is the first time I'm trying lupine so I'm still learning. I raised the fluorescent light and fertilize regularly, but still the seedlings appear weak, just hanging-in there. Any comments? We will do this ourselves BUT we have mad skills. I would say 90% of them bend and die, which I have read it is because of a fungal disease at the soil level. Some of my tomato plants are dying for no reason. Page 1 of 1: Hi all, I have a dozen or so lupins that I raised from seed. Warm temperatures will encourage leggy growth too. I'm a newbie gardener so any advice or possibilities welcome for me. why are my seedlings dying? Are Your Seeds Failing? Thread starter khulozz; Start date Aug 17, 2008; K. khulozz Active Member. One source I saw said they are annual and require seed to come back but apparently not so. I wanted to know what could be the reason for this and have written my research below. I have seen a lot of you talking about it on various boards in here. T April 2014 in Problem solving. Weak Lupins or yellow leaves may be caused by too much lime as Lupins prefer an acid